help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

President's Message

 | Published on 6/12/2018

The Sioux Falls Business and Professional Women was created in 1919 and was the first national organization in the world of its kind.  Our mission is to enhance the business and leadership potential of all women through networking, professional and personal development. 


Our local membership is comprised of women of varying stages of their career including entry and mid-level personnel, corporate executives, business owners, elected officials and retirees who share the overall goal to build powerful women - politically, professionally and personally.  If you are a woman in the Sioux Falls area that also shares this goal, we invite you to join us!


Membership benefits include connecting with an exclusive network of colleagues and some of the most successful business women in the Sioux Falls region while sharpening your skills by participating in activities and learning from our featured speakers at our monthly membership meetings and other events throughout the year.  These opportunities can assist you in making invaluable connections and help in advancing your career.


To enhance the value of your membership, I strongly encourage that you volunteer to serve on a committee within the organization.  By getting involved, you can take full advantage of your membership through strengthening relationships with other members and gaining leadership skills.


I have been a member of Sioux Falls Business & Professional Women for the past five year. My time in the organization has allowed me the opportunity to meet, learn, and engage with women committed to making an impact in the Sioux Falls community. In addition, the professional development opportunities offered through the organization has help enhanced my role in the organization and community.  

Thank you for your interest in our organization.  I welcome you to contact me if you have any questions about membership or want to learn more about the rich history of this organization.




Sandra Melstad

2019-2020 President